Tablet, meet Linux

Ubuntu continues to have a problem with the tablet. Several problems, actually. Chiefly, stylus movement is impaired because the cursor will randomly stop moving until the stylus is removed and repositioned. This means continuous repositioning of the stylus during drawing while being unable to see the cursor move half of the time. Not good.

On the upside, Ubuntu provides a software called MyPaint which (unlike the version of Gimp that I have) picks up the stylus pressure and reacts to it. So, working pressure sensitivity. MyPaint is actually made for drawing with a tablet, so has reasonably tablet-friendly brush and colour selection etc. A practical piece of software measured by Linux standards. Unfortunately the cursor problem is probably driver related (lots of people report this issue on the internet).

I have pressure sensitivity working just fine in Gimp 2.8 under Windows, which is my preferred graphics app anyway. It’s too bad that Ubuntu doesn’t provide a good way to install the latest stable version of Gimp (2.8) to their 10.04 LTS version distribution. That’s “Long Term Support”, which is absolutely laughable seeing it has problems such as this. To my mind, “long term support” means that I can install the latest stable software on an OS that’s currently officially supported by Canonical, gentlemen.

WTF, Linux? I would much prefer NOT having to boot into Windows for this.

Anyway, I’m slowly getting used to drawing on the tablet. Excuse my schoolboy doodles, I’m still working my way up. I haven’t actually drawn in years, I’m a bit rusty. It’s great fun when it works though.

I’m working on a testmap for a crazy new FTEQW feature that Spike has cooked up, too. When I get something that looks like it should, I’ll dwell on that a bit longer.

Interfacing…

Edit – the tablet works now under Ubuntu, properly. Still not in Gimp, but MyPaint is very useable for the things I need to do (mainly sketching and user interface design) so I’m mostly happy. It was a case of Ubuntu doing things in nonstandard ways. So you could say that the old problem of each Linux flavour doing things differently still applies.

One response to “Tablet, meet Linux

Leave a Reply

