A Warm Gun

Skærmbillede fra 2013-08-29 02:25:47

I got pissed with the Quake shotgun that I still use as a placeholder viewmodel, so started making my own. As you can see, no fancy tactical bullshit for me – although I might include a flashlight upgrade. Since I’ve never actually used a shotgun – this is Germany, so the only guns you’ll get to handle are things like battle rifles, machine guns and panzerfausts – I had to invest a lot of time into research. Thankfully, our “friends” from the NRA make quite detailed Youtube videos about their favourite toys when they’re not bashing video games. Thanks!

Skærmbillede fra 2013-08-29 02:23:41

I think I’m happy with this. A couple details are still missing, but the basic shapes are down. This is Sub-D modelling, naturally, for eventual baking. I did use a photo reference to get the basic proportions down, but all the details are pretty much pure fantasy. I’m still considering to put some sort of sci-fi heat shield on this or maybe change the shape of the stock. We’ll see.

Skærmbillede fra 2013-08-29 02:21:30

In Scout’s Journey, shotguns are used by the players as well as by Herd troopers and occasionally Tribals, and they might also appear in cutscenes, so the extra detail is not wasted.

Skærmbillede fra 2013-08-29 02:20:48

2 responses to “A Warm Gun

Leave a Reply

